Welcome to the ICoTA Europe Chapter

The ICoTA Award for Innovation & Technology

The ICoTA Award for Innovation & Technology is judged and presented annually by the Europe Chapter of the Intervention & Coiled Tubing Association. Entries are now open for the 2021 Award and will close on Monday 20th September.

20201210 125233

Entry Process

Entries are judged by the Committee of the ICoTA European Chapter.

Judging Criteria and Guidelines for Entries

  • Technology - either new technology or existing technology used in an innovative way including the general nurturing of technology rather than a single project or a variation of a theme rather than an entirely new technology.
  • Application - where is the innovation being applied and what does it do?
  • Value to the industry - why did you use this technology? For example, to reduce risk, increase recovery, improve safety or minimise environmental impact.

Conditions for Award

The technology should have been either:

  • Developed in Europe and applied in Europe or elsewhere for the first time, or
  • Developed elsewhere and applied for the first time in Europe
  • For the 2021 award, the technology must have been applied for the first time since 31st March 2020

Please submit your entry by the closing date of Monday 20th September 2021

You must be available to present on Tuesday 5th October 2021 via Webinar unless face to face meetings become possible later in the year.

For more information, please contact icota@mearns-gill.com or call 01224 646311.

To begin the entry process, click here

Recent Winners – ICoTA Award for Innovation & Technology

Previous Winners

2019Dwellop and ShellLynx Wireline Mast
2018Ocean Team ScandinaviaSCC02 Cleaning System
2017WellSenseFibreLine Intervention
2016Shell & Helix Wellops & Altus InterventionCoil Tubing from a light well Intervention vessel – a North Sea first
2015EPlugTorq Plug
2013InterwellExpandable Junk Catcher
2012OilencoSoak Sleeve & Syringe
2011SchlumbergerDigital Slickline perforating pipe recovery & plug setting
2010BP & BJ ServicesPushing the boundaries of Concentric Coil Tubing on Normally Unattended Installations
2009Baker HughesSnapScreen Live Well Deployment System for Sand Screens
2008StatoilHydroNurturing and application of Riserless Light Well Intervention Technology
2007Baker AtlasGasView service
2006Halliburton EasywellSwell Technology – Swellpacker Isolation System
2005ZertechZ-seal Metal sealing technology
2004Blafro ToolsCoiled Tubing Heave Compensator development
2003BakerMilling of Chrome Tubulars
2002StatoilCommitment to nurturing the development of new technologies
2001TalismanCommitment to offshore UBD-CTD in the North Sea